My New Home Sweet Home in OZ

So we have been in Melbourne a little over 3 weeks now.  We’ve met tons of great people, celebrated our first Australia Day with a bunch of Ozzies by the Yarra River listening to the Top 100 countdown, watched some Australian Open at the Rod Laver Arena, explored only a fraction of the city, managed to find the perfect apartment in St. Kilda, enjoyed the local beaches, dipped in a nearby hot springs, tasted some beautiful Australian wines, went strawberry picking, non-stop eating (living in Turkey for a little while made me miss REAL food!), morning beach runs, keeping a constant tan (I look Jamaican again), discovered my love for the following: Vegemite, the Hungry Kids from Hungry at St. Kilda Fest, lemon and mint flavored water, sweet potato with every meal, the $3 juice bar down the street, sweet red wines, moscato wines, English breakfast tea in the morning with a splash of tea and one teaspoon of sugar (I’m no longer a coffee freak, I never drink it anymore. How strange is that?) and shopping the local Australian brands/designers.

Melbourne is a great Vancouver alternative.  On weekend mornings, I am surrounded by runners, cyclists and boot camps along the sea front with the lululemon logo on everything every other person is wearing.  Easy access to a good latte can be found within walking distance no matter where you are. Good quality wines and restaurants are also a dime a dozen.  Dog beaches, stores, and puppies surround me with dog owners bringing their dogs to festivals, brunch, shopping, coffee, etc.  Endless things to do on a summer days… the best shows, festivals, and markets. The only thing that is missing is SUSHI! What I would give for some proper spicy tuna and gyoza.  Oh well, Vegemite on toast has been filling that void at the moment.  All I need to do now is find my perfect Yoga Studio, get a job asap (anyone in Melbourne hiring?!), decorate our apartment, learn to drive on the opposite side of the road and make some friends I can annoy on a regular basis. Then I won’t miss Canada as much…

Today is my first Valentine’s Day as a married woman.  Married life has been nice. I’m still getting used to my new name… I didn’t realize how it actually impacts my daily life.  From job hunting to ordering internet to giving my name to new Facebook friends.  I keep making the mistake of giving my maiden name first before apologetically correcting myself. I used to be the only Denise Jesudason in this whole world. Now I am among the hundreds, maybe thousands of Denise Sullivans. It’s a strange feeling, but I am not complaining. It’s nice not to have to get the “huh?” reaction to my last name for a change! lol! No big plans for us tonight, just some quality husband/wife time over dinner out before heading out to do some errands for the moving day this coming Saturday.  Signing off for now… will be posting some photos of the new gaf so stay tuned!

By the way, what did you all think of Gaga’s grand entrance and performance at the Grammy’s??? Wowza.

 

 

One thought on “My New Home Sweet Home in OZ

Leave a Reply

